Justin goodNplenty closeupMajor: Genetics

Minor: Criminology

Computational Genetics Certificate

Graduation Year: 2020

How did you decide on your major?

When I was entering college I had an interest in biology so I took intro classes which included taking a molecular biology laboratory class. It was in that class that I found my special interest in microbiology and genetics, and after looking at the electives and opportunities I found that human genetics was what I was really interested in.

What is it about your chosen field (and the department) that appeals to you?

I found an interest in the department of Genetics because it had a great set of opportunities and research labs. The department has many different types of research, and has opportunities to help one find and continue research during the summers. The department is also small enough to get a close knit community where everyone can know everyone else, but also large enough to have many opportunities for research. I find this field most interesting because it allows me to research genes and genetic diseases using computational methods, which combines my passion for genetics with my interest in using computational tools in my studies.

Do you have a favorite class/professor within your major?Pic Summer 2018

I don’t have a favorite professor per se because there are many professors in the department that want to help the students succeed, and will help the students in whatever way they can. I would say that my favorite classes were genetics 1 and 2, as well as the Quantitative Biology and Bioinformatics. These are my favorite classes because the genetics classes taught me the information about genetics that I have been interested in since high school and the Bioinformatics class was very fulfilling because it teaches students how to conduct genetic research using computational methods, which is the research field that I want to pursue.

What are your favorite academic experiences outside of your major?

One of my favorite academic experiences outside of my major is the minor that I am studying. By studying a minor in Criminology it allows me to study some of my side interests in Psychology and Criminal Justice.

What are your other Rutgers activities?

Outside of my major and scholarship, I work part time in my research lab and help out with the Quantitative Biology and Bioinformatics class by lending a hand when needed.

What are your plans following graduation?

Following my undergraduate graduation at Rutgers, I will be returning to Rutgers to pursue a PhD. in Molecular Genetics.

Return to Prospective Students Page