Advising

Advisors

Each class has assigned advisors. The role of the advisor is to monitor the progress of Genetics majors towards satisfying the Bachelor degree requirements. The assigned advisor will advise students on a course of study for the duration of the student's undergraduate career.  Declared genetics majors can also access their grades and check whether they are taking the required courses towards their major by using Degree Navigator.

Note: Advisors are assigned by class and the student's last name.

Coordinator of Advisors:

Dr. Gary Heiman
heiman@rutgers.edu  
(848) 445-9576
Nelson B412

Class

Last Name of Student

Advisor

Contact Information

 

2023


(Seniors)

 
A to F Dr. Lei Yu Email: yu@biology.rutgers.edu 
Phone: 848-445-0794
Office: Center for Alcohol Studies 107
G to L Dr. Andrew Singson Email: singson@waksman.rutgers.edu 
Phone: 848-445-0836
Office: Waksman 123A
M to Q Dr. Bryce Nickels Email: bnickels@waksman.rutgers.edu 
Phone: 848-445-6852
Office: Waksman 335
R to Z Dr. David Axelrod Email: axelrod@biology.rutgers.edu 
Phone: 848-445-2011
Office: Nelson B341
 

2024


(Juniors)

A to F  Dr. Jinchuan Xing

Email: xing@dls.rutgers.edu
Phone: 848-445-9663
Office: LSB 325

G to L Dr. Kim McKim Email: mckim@waksman.rutgers.edu
Phone: 848-445-6852
Office: Waksman 206
M to Q Dr. Srujana Yadavalli  Email: sam.yadavalli.rutgers.edu
Phone: 848-445-3425
Office: Waksman 133
R to Z Dr. Gleb Shumyatsky

Email: gleb@dls.rutgers.edu 

Phone: 848-445-1223

Office: LSB 322

 

2025

(Sophomores)

A to F Dr. Chris Rongo Email: rongo@waksman.rutgers.edu
Phone: (848) 445-0955
Office: Waxman, Room 124
G to L Dr. Chris Ellison Email: chris.ellison@rutgers.edu 
Phone: 848-445-2812
Office: Nelson B420
M to Q Dr. Michael Verzi Email: mv347@hginj.rutgers.edu
Phone: 848-445-9578
Office: LSB 127
R to Z Dr. Tara Matise Email: matise@rutgers.edu
Phone: 848-445-3125
Office: Nelson B410
 

2026 &

Transfer Students

ALL Dr. Gary Heiman Email : heiman@rutgers.edu 
Phone : 848-445-9576
Office : Nelson B412
 
Genetic Counseling ALL Dr. Gary Heiman Email: heiman@rutgers.edu
Phone: 848-445-9576
Office: Nelson Biological Laboratory Bldg. B412

Computational Genetics

ALL Dr. Derek Gordon Email: gordon@biology.rutgers.edu 
Phone: 848-445-3386
Office: Nelson B414